Danseys Pass

Danseys Pass Coach Inn is the only building remaining in Danseys Pass which was built in 1862.

At the north end of the Maniototo Plain is Danseys Pass which links the Maniototo to Waitali District. Danseys Pass is 16 km from Naseby.

Named after William Heywood Dansey, a North Otago run holder who did expedition over the Pass into Central Otago with three others in 1855-56. Danseys Pass was once well used for gold mining traffic and Moniototo side of the Pass was the successful gold digging which was discovered before major finding at Naseby.

Danseys Pass Coach Inn is the only building remaining in Danseys Pass which was built in 1862.

 

Info

Population: 7





Loading Weather
please wait...

Weather

Current Temperature: °C
Speed:
Direction:

View Trail Forecast

Danseys Pass Coach Inn

Tagged as: Hotel

The Coach Inns of Central Otago are unique. Most have succumbed to floods, fire or simply the ravages of time.

Rates:

En-suite double/twin $160

Double/twin $140

more info

Danseys Pass Coach Inn

Their menu is packed full of fresh local produce carefully selected and prepared by their chefs.

Ph: 03 444 9048


Upper Kyeburn Cemetery

Approximately 2/3rd of the way between Naseby township and Danseys Pass Coach Inn you can view the original notice board with Cemetery Charges.


German Creek Reserve

German Creek Reserve is on behind the hotel. The early miners planted trees representing their homeland.

 

 

 


The Rail Trail Guide Book

The single most important resource when travelling the Central Otago Rail Trail

A beautifully crafted book with amazing photography by Peter Andrews showing Central Otago as it truly is, one of the most rugged, extreme and beautiful locations on the planet. Stunning scenery, amazing and important historical and current information, detailed maps, lists of accommodation, frequently asked questions, where to eat, how far between towns, etc. It’s all in here.

More Info